Poppies: Weeping Window

Hey guys!! A couple of weekends ago, me and my family visited the ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’ display, that’s on the Maritime Museum in Hull. ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’ is basically an installation of thousands of homemade, ceramic poppies, cascading down the Maritime Museum. It’s actually the same installation from 2014, that was at HM Tower of London and it’s touring the UK as part of the 14-18 NOW arts programme which is for the First World War Centenary.  In today’s blog post, I’m going to be sharing my experience of the ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’ display and giving you my honest opinion of it.

When I first saw ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’, my breath was taken away at the sheer beauty of the display. Each little poppy was so intricate and well made and they all contributed their individual beauty to make the piece captivating and powerful. Even though ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’ was cascading all the way down the Maritime Museum in Queen Victoria Square, I don’t think it really seemed to dominate the area as much as Blade ; in fact in a way it almost enhanced Queen Victoria Square as a whole and I’ll definitely be sad to see it go in May.

I would rate this event 10 out of 10 stars for its intricacy and beauty. I’m really glad I got the opportunity to visit ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’ in Hull after failing to find time to see it when it was first in London. If you haven’t already been to see ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’ then I would definitely recommend going to see it because like all the City of Culture events, it’s really different and unique and is something you may not get the opportunity to visit again.

Thank you for reading this blog post!! Let me know in the comments if you have seen ‘Poppies: Weeping Window’ or if you are going to see it soon!! There will be another blog post out next week but until then bye for now!!

Amelia Grace a.k.a Amelia in Hull

34 Comments

  1. I am coming to see the poppies in Hull over the Easter weekend and I’m really looking forward to it. I was fortunate to visit the display in London – this was amazing and I’m sure from what you’ve said in your blog that I’m not going to be disappointed when I see the ‘weeping window’!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

