‘The funny thing about’ event

Hey guys!! On Wednesday, me and my family went to Winifred Holtby Secondary School in Hull so that we could watch ‘The funny thing about’ kids comedy performance as part of the ‘back to ours’ event which ran over the half term holiday.  It ran for an hour and starred a writer/comedian called James Campbell. He performed a really clever stand-up comedy act and interacted with the audience as well. I thought he put on a really good performance and made jokes about a variety of things. In today’s blog post, I’m going to be describing this event to you and giving you my honest opinion on it.

‘The funny thing about’ event started at 11 and ran on until 12. Once everyone in the audience was seated, James Campbell walked in and introduced himself. He then went on to make some jokes about names which I thought was a clever transition from him first introducing himself. Through the performance, he talked about and made jokes about a variety of things including lollipop ladies, pets, video games and scooters and I thought that his performance  flowed really well and he involved the audience quite a lot in his comedy act. He also very cleverly advertised his book by getting onto the subject of pets which was what his book was actually about and after the show you could buy his book and get it signed by him. I actually really enjoyed the performance and although some of his jokes were more suited for children since he’s a kid’s comedian, I found myself laughing at quite a lot of the jokes he made and I left Winifred Holtby in a really good mood after his performance.

I would rate this event 5 out of 5 stars because I think it was a really funny event and a little bit different from other City of Culture events we’ve had so far this year. It was a really enjoyable show and a great event for City of Culture.

Thank you for reading this blog post!! Who’s your favourite comedian? Let me know in the comments!! There’ll be another blog post out next week but until then bye for now!!

Amelia Grace a.k.a Amelia in Hull

12 Comments

      1. Oh wow thank you for this!!! Sent it over and he was well chuffed! May pop up to see them on the same weekend if I can swing it with work!! If I do I’ll let you know! He’s planning on staying in Victoria Docks! 😘 xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. H was chuffed with that link. He has also asked if you know any tattoos parlours up there? May be a long shot but…??
        Ye after we stayed there he was happy to know you could walk up into town from there if he had to! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m glad and yeah there are quite a few actually!! Don’t personally know what they are like but there is Ronnie starrs, creative vandals and inkwerx (they are all rated 5 stars on Google!!) Hope that helps 😊❤ xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

